First name: Elena, Place of origin: Guatemala, Place of residence: Cincinnati, Ohio, Gender: Female, Occupation: Varies *Name has been changed to protect identity




Elena immigrated to the United States in 2002 from Guatemala. Guatemala suffered many injustices. May people lived in extreme poverty and the government was very corrupt. It was difficult to have a good life there. I first met Elena at an organization in Cincinnati where I helped her learn English. After I met Elena, I learned that she is thirty seven years old and has lived in the United States for fifteen years. She currently works cleaning houses at night and attends classes during the day. She attended the university in Guatemala and studied business, and eventually wants to pursue her career here. Elena lives alone and most of her friends are also Latino. She dedicates most of her time to working, leaning English, and working on her health. When meeting her, I quickly learned how kind and humble she is as a person. She cares profoundly for other people and is committed to justice. It was an honor to meet her and to see her life and her past.

Document Type


Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Fraulini English intro reflection translation.docx (496 kB)
Intro and Reflection - English Translation

Fraulini Spanish historia oral transcripcion .docx (502 kB)
Oral History Interview - Spanish

Fraulini English oral history translation.docx (498 kB)
Oral History Interview - English



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.